VectorVest

Overall Rating

Rating: 3.1/5. From 31 votes.
Please wait...
3.1
Rating from 141 votes
If you’ve subscribed to VectorVest, please click the stars below to indicate your rating for this newsletter, and please share any other feedback about your experience using the comment box below.

Investment Performance

Rating from 45 votes
Rating: 3.3/5. From 45 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 12 Votes
  • 4 Stars 14 Votes
  • 3 Stars 1 Votes
  • 2 Stars 10 Votes
  • 1 Stars 8 Votes

Quality Of Writing/Analysis

Rating from 32 votes
Rating: 3.1/5. From 32 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 6 Votes
  • 4 Stars 9 Votes
  • 3 Stars 6 Votes
  • 2 Stars 5 Votes
  • 1 Stars 6 Votes

Value For Price

Rating from 33 votes
Rating: 2.7/5. From 33 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 3 Votes
  • 4 Stars 7 Votes
  • 3 Stars 8 Votes
  • 2 Stars 7 Votes
  • 1 Stars 8 Votes

Customer Service

Rating from 31 votes
Rating: 3.1/5. From 31 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 8 Votes
  • 4 Stars 3 Votes
  • 3 Stars 9 Votes
  • 2 Stars 5 Votes
  • 1 Stars 6 Votes
guest

12345

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

76 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
josey
Member
josey
January 15, 2011 10:08 am

I made a trial subscription with vector vest news letter and when the trial period ended without notifying me they started charging me fifty dollars and they did it twice suibscription. I tried to get a refund from vector vest and would not get it. They use high pressure tricky techniques to entrap you with a sub and their accesibility is tricky and paranoic cuz they think you are trying to get something free from them. I cannot recommend vector vest to anyone.
They make exaggerated claims as to their performance also. I cannot recommend vector vest to anyone

Rich S.
Guest
Rich S.
January 23, 2011 9:38 pm

I attempted (twice) to provide my opinion about VV. My opinions were negative and that NO PERSON WHO HAD THE ABILITY TO DETERMINE WINNERS AT 80% OR BETTER WOULD WANT TO SELL ANYONE PARTNERSHIP INTO THEIR SYSTEM FOR ANY AMOUNT OF MONEY.
And, each time I submitted my opinions, they were blocked saying that I cursed.
LOL
It’s a scam.
Sure, it can provide some good analysis.
And, sometimes you will make good money.
But, sometimes you will lose a lot of money.

The inventor has determined, that for him to have a guaranteed of being rich, the best way, is for him to sell his memberships at $600 a pop. That will make him a guaranteed winner.

There is no golden goose.

Swing Trader
Member
Swing Trader
February 1, 2011 3:25 pm

I use VectorVest daily and use it for very short term stock swings. I make a quick gain and get out. With the first trade each month I pay for the subscription. Caution! They have very liberal stops which I do not use as you may incur large losses. I do feel that they have a good sense of market timing.

Add a Topic
899
Add a Topic
5971
Add a Topic
372
Aj
Guest
Aj
February 6, 2011 5:55 pm

I used it for a year and lost a lot of money. Too cumbersome to use and after the fact performance.

DAR
Guest
DAR
February 8, 2011 8:00 pm

I’ve only been using VV for about four months, but I find it very useful. I don’t rely on anyone’s system, but prefer trusting my own analyses. But VV saves me a lot of time with their ratios. Normally I would have to do that research myself. I double checked their data and found it close enough to be reliable. VV is too slow reaching a “sell” position — too long on “hold.” And I have not found their stock recommendations strong choices. Also, I’ve picked up a few errors in data. But overall, as PART of your portfolio management, VV is helpful, although a bit pricy.

Add a Topic
5971
Ed
Guest
Ed
February 23, 2011 7:29 pm

If I would have had VectorVest 2 weeks earlier, I would have been in this rally going long from the beginning instead of going short like all the gurus were saying back in August and losing my shirt. I think they are first class, but I would recommend that you a least know a little technical analysis to go along with it like stochastics, MACD, OBV and how to draw a trend line. Stick to the picks from the SP500 and you will get more reliable results. I have found this out from extensive backtesting. Nothing works 100% of the time or somebody would have found it by now and have all the money in the world.

Add a Topic
899
jayminho
Guest
jayminho
March 8, 2011 10:39 pm

in a market full of scamers, the first thing to be said is, they are legit!
lets face it, they been around since 85, have a phone number a physical address where you can pay them a visit. how many “trading system/gurus” out there make this available to you ? – they also run workshops around the country and other continents, so, they sure do have a loyal audience.
with that being said, lets go to the part where it matters most; how good is their system ?
there is no such thing as holy grail in the stock market, and we all know that. I found them to have cons as well as amazing pros.

(the pros)
– its easy to use
– they have proprietary system
– the customer support is amazing, you call them, they call you back, assist you in everything.
– they have strategies every week who are integrated to their system.
– they have all types of strategies, for daytraders, swing traders, short, mid and long term and also retirement strategies
– you can backtest everything and follow their results.

(the cons)
– as some have stated above, they do delete bk’d companies. which leaves a bad impression, you might think they are trying to hide something.
– its not cheap. i think the cheapest package is around 29/month, i pay 228/month for my package + addons (=addons at vectorvest are things like, realtime marketing, other vectorvest softwares, etc..)
– no forex, futures strategies

well
by the end of the day, yes, i would recommend to friends.

Add a Topic
372
Add a Topic
5971
Add a Topic
899
Erik
Guest
Erik
March 23, 2011 8:16 pm

UGH…STOP WORRYING ABOUT THE MARKETING, PEOPLE! Look at the RESULTS! I’ve been a VV subscriber for 4 years. The most valuable call that VectorVest has ever issued was a confirmed down call on June 11th, 2008, before the market tanked! As a result, I stayed out of the market, briefly lost 20% on a confirmed (incorrect) UP the following January, but then DOUBLED MY MONEY shortly thereafter after the next UP was issued.

If you’re going to use VectorVest, here are the 4 biggest things to keep in mind that I can’t stress enough:

1) Disregard the BUY/SELL/HOLD recommendations. Do your own fundamental and technical analysis of stocks using their custom search tools, and build a few custom searches. If you don’t know how evaluate a stock properly, don’t subscribe.

2) DO go with their confirmed UP calls, but use a different method for getting out of stocks. Their confirmed DOWN calls are usually a bit late, but they have other proprietary methods for getting out soon enough to lock in your profits like their “ProTrader DEW.” Also, know your stops: 20% Down/50% up are good stops for most strategies. Don’t buy stocks, no matter what the recommendation, if the Market is in a confirmed Down.

3) Do ready the VectorVest Views every day. Often times the author will reveal something about his view of the market going forward that will help you stay on the right side of the market.

4) Backtest, backtest, backtest! I’ve backtested nearly everything, and although I’d rather not reveal which strategies I use personally, I can ABSOLUTELY verify that some of their pre-populated strategies are real gems. I tweaked a few of them, and the one I use now has returned over 11,000% over the last 9 years, and 432% in real returns since I started subscribing 4 years ago.

One last comment/secret: You can ABSOLUTELY MAKE MONEY without being accurate more than 50% of the time. The above referenced strategy is only accurate 46% of the time, but because my upside is always greater than my downside, it works. 50/20 stops are all it takes.

Add a Topic
5971
Add a Topic
1278
Alfred
Guest
Alfred
September 6, 2011 9:37 am

How good is the VV system? I don’t know. The first time when I run the 5-week trial subscription (using stock-viewer on HKG stocks), I found the difference in market capital/#of shares between what reported in VV system vs what actually are for some HKG stocks were very substantial. The #2 largest market capital stock in HKG (0939.HK) being ranked as #37 (there was a 10 times difference, HKD126.7B in VV vs HKD1267B actual). Seven out of the 46 stocks that compose the Hang Seng Index have their market capital wrong in VV.
I would suggest VV to follow up very seriously with the data supplier on data integrity and may also want to do some QA on data being fed. Things like EPS, P/E are calculated based on #of shares. If VV’s suggestions are based on wrong data input, some good money may go down the drain by taking up the suggestions. By the way, at least one stock listed since Jun2011 is not in VV system (0871.HK).
I HAVE INFORMED VV ON THE PROBLEMS (THRU PHONE CALLS/EMAILS TO SUPPORT , SALES, DATA MANAGER )SINCE 11AUG2011, THERE WAS NO RESPONSE ON WHAT HAPPENED AND WHAT VV WILL DO TO CLEAN UP THEIR DATA BASE.
I am totally disappointed.

Add a Topic
5971
Add a Topic
5971