Yield Shark

Overall Rating

Rating: 3.9/5. From 11 votes.
Please wait...
4.0
Rating from 40 votes
If you’ve subscribed to Yield Shark, please click the stars below to indicate your rating for this newsletter, and please share any other feedback about your experience using the comment box below.

Investment Performance

Rating from 10 votes
Rating: 3.7/5. From 10 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 6 Votes
  • 4 Stars 0 Votes
  • 3 Stars 1 Votes
  • 2 Stars 1 Votes
  • 1 Stars 2 Votes

Quality Of Writing/Analysis

Rating from 10 votes
Rating: 4.3/5. From 10 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 6 Votes
  • 4 Stars 2 Votes
  • 3 Stars 1 Votes
  • 2 Stars 1 Votes
  • 1 Stars 0 Votes

Value For Price

Rating from 9 votes
Rating: 4.1/5. From 9 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 6 Votes
  • 4 Stars 0 Votes
  • 3 Stars 2 Votes
  • 2 Stars 0 Votes
  • 1 Stars 1 Votes

Customer Service

Rating from 11 votes
Rating: 3.9/5. From 11 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 6 Votes
  • 4 Stars 1 Votes
  • 3 Stars 2 Votes
  • 2 Stars 1 Votes
  • 1 Stars 1 Votes
guest

12345

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

16 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
donwen1331
donwen1331
7 years ago

This news leter is not what it claims to be, and its claimed results bear no relation to reality.The reccomendations are well thought out, but the analyst is very weak on technical analysis . The definition of “reasonable” includes pink sheet stocks and most brokerage houses do not allow stop losses on pink sheet stocks so you are flying without a parchute. Ideas are good fundamentally and bad technically. The site gives access to Mauldin’s ideas. These tend to be those of a fiscal conservative but not a nutty one as those on Fox, but Mauldin has a free news letter . Customer service will answer the phone and allow you to terminate a news letter that has cost you money with a pro rated refund if you are unhappy. Not a good response. Mauldin should spend less time telling us of his travels and more editing this newsletter. All in all the letter is NOT worth the money.

tampat
tampat
7 years ago

SInce launching the service in July, 2012 they have made good picks. Only one of their rec’s turned out to be a loss and that was the pink sheet stock referred to by another reviewer. If you follow their recommendation to use a 20% stop loss thats what you would have lost on that one. Every other pick has been a winner when closed out and the one’s still being held are all profitable picks.

All the stocks they rec are dividend stocks. The previous review stating they just pick pink sheet stocks is just plain wrong and you could place a stop loss order on all their rec’s so maybe that reviewer needs a new broker. Even if you didn’t have your stop in the market, it was easy enough to get out when it fell 20%.

I subscribed during their special offer of $99 per year and I would say that it was easily worth it.

I only dealt with customer service once and sent them an email. They responded within 24 hours.

My only complaint is the gap open the day after a rec as some of the picks have been lower volume stocks, but not pink sheeters. Their last rec gapped open the next day above the recommended buy price and didnt come back down, still going up so I missed that one.

Overall I’d give them a B, but no one who subscribes can complain that they have lost money if they followed the newsletters instructions.

Add a Topic
5971
👍 3
misty6
misty6
7 years ago

I think one pick tells the whole story. Poseidon POOSF. Touted at about $15 saying all that could go wrong was “competition and regulation” and that it had “PROFITS ON FIRE”. In less than a month POOSF lost 70% of its value. In 2 months it was down 95%. It closed at 1,24 on 1/28. In other words Mauldin picked the worst performing stock in the entire stock universe. How does the man do it?

(He excuses himself by saying there was a stop loss but as many of his subscribers found, you can’t put a stop order on a “pink sheet” stock with many brokers.) Of course this is to obscure the terrible he made in the 1st place.

Don’t trust his numbers. He has put 2 different stop losses on the same stock in the same newsletter. Last month he put a stop price of $35 on LINE, Linn Energy, LINE hit 35 on Dec 31 and then rallied. Mauldin said the stop didn’t count b/c there was a dividend that SHOULD have counted. Oops my bad, I was stopped out.

The only good thing is that part of the name is correct: SHARK.
Never forget that your loss is NOT limited to your subscription price, you can lose a fortune on these picks.

Add a Topic
5971
Add a Topic
5971
Add a Topic
5971
investletters
investletters
7 years ago

We have recently written a number of blog posts (at InvestLetters.com) about Yield Shark inconsistencies and difficulties in interpreting stop loss order instructions.

Since we personally subscribe to Yield Shark and try to mimic their portfolio with our own money we certainly echo some of the other user reviews regarding POOSF (our broker did not accept limit orders on “F” stocks either).
And recently they even added a bonus reco to their portfolio even though it never dropped into the “buy price” range given.

Frustrating and I hope that they are monitoring their online reputation and paying attention to all the obvious subscriber contacts/questions they are receiving with an open mind to improving the service.

Add a Topic
2933
Add a Topic
2933
👍 4
Stefan
Stefan
7 years ago

As a longtime reader of John Mauldin’s website and his regular world view articles, which are 5 stars excellent, I was excited to subscribe to the new Yield Shark newsletter, which was to name actual stocks for investment. It proved difficult to invest in many recommendations, which were often “buy at X dollars or less” when the stock was already higher, and in many cases continued higher. Outside of a stop loss figure, there was little follow up advice on these stocks. Mostly you received one newsletter per month and were left to fend for yourself in the interim. In one recent instance, a Mauldin advertisement for Yield Shark was hyping a stock (ARII) that would be revealed if you subscribed. Travis, a true marvel, unmasked that stock a few days before the Yield Shark newsletter arrived at its paid subscribers and the stock had already risen too far on Gumshoe’s announcement to be worth investing. That was the last straw and I unsubscribed to Yield Shark. Very disappointed.

Add a Topic
2933
Add a Topic
5971
Add a Topic
2933
👍 8
budwood
7 years ago

I, too, am subscribing to Yield Shark. Picks are not bad, but the timing is a little behind the times. Good picks in several cases and good overall evaluations. However, I haven’t made money and will probably not renew. There are better newsletters for my time and money.

Add a Topic
2933
agau
agau
6 years ago

A charter subscriber in 2012, I chose not to renew after the first year. The initial sales pitch was that a subscription to the newsletter was ‘buying John Mauldin’. Not so!

Example: In John’s free letters, he made it perfectly clear that his no-lose investment for the second half of 2012 was to short the yen, (and long-time readers of Mauldin know that he seldom calls anything a sure thing.) Although this timing coincided with the launch of Yield Shark, what was the recommended Yield Shark suggestion for shorting the yen? There was none!

Instead, nine months later, there was a Yield Shark recommendation to BUY Asian debt securities via the FAX ETF. Are you kidding me?

Add a Topic
2931
Add a Topic
899
Add a Topic
2933
👍 3
D Brown
D Brown
6 years ago

Best I can do here is share my own experience, on the basis of which I am continuing with the service, which recently announced a new “buy and hold” portion of their portfolio, in response to supposed subscriber criticism about overly frequent trades. I’ve bought 6 of YS’s recommended holdings in 2013 and have unrealized gains on 4 of them. The one realized loss was 12% when a trailing stop triggered, and the stock has continued to decline so I’m glad about that stop. Overall I’ve gained 6.7% since my first purchase in May 2013 (incl dividends reinvested), and it’s paid many times over for the subscription cost. I’m OK with that and consider this service not such a bad choice for somewhat conservative dividend investors who already have utilities and telecoms. One aspect that troubles me, though (and explains why I bought none of their recommendation for my first 6 months as a subscriber) is that their recommendations often show a “hold” for current subscribers, but a “buy” for new subscribers. I do not completely understand this seeming double standard….if someone shouldn’t add to their existing position, why would someone else wish to establish one at a higher cost? If the reason is solely to give new subscribers something to do, that doesn’t work for me. I do not mean to “damn with faint praise, ” but so many other newsletters tick me off with selective, over-inflated hype about performance, that I consider YS’s comparatively sober, reasonable tone and approach to be preferable.

Add a Topic
5971
Add a Topic
152
Add a Topic
1274
👍 378
gm171
gm171
6 years ago

Was a charter member, but found the service to be of little value to me. I do respect John Mauldin’s world view. I just found this newsletter lacking in investment strategy meaningful to me.

Joe Scott
Joe Scott
5 years ago

I too was a charter member. I’ve read John’s newsletters for years and was really excited to have his team guide my investments. Unfortunately, my trust was misplaced.

I’ve followed their recommendations as exactly as I have been able to. My total (~3 year) return is ~0.1%.

I find their support unhelpful. They know nothing about the newsletter and seem unable to collect relevant answers from the analysts. Several times (most recently with TM) a stop loss was triggered but the stock wasn’t officially sold from the portfolio. I asked support what to do and they responded with a completely noncommittal, unhelpful answer.

Additionally the letter itself several times has IMO been dishonest about its returns. They state returns that are impossible unless purchases or sales were made before recommendations were sent out.

Add a Topic
1340
Add a Topic
5971
groovygeek
groovygeek
5 years ago

Another charter member here and another decision to drop the subscription. Mr. Mauldin has, in one form or another, cost me dearly. I have enjoyed reading his free newsletters for nearly a decade, so when he offered a subscription service I decided to give it a try. As others have reported, after several years of strong general market returns I am somewhere between break-even and mi